Learn French and gastronomy course

Rhone-Alpes, Lyon, France

7 days from
per person
£248

Average user rating

Average guest review

Overall Experience

Learning experience

Friendliness of staff

Quality of tuition

Average overall rating for
this holiday location

Read reviews from previous guests

D Brocklebank, Port Erin, United Kingdom - May 2014

Declan absolutely loved it I have received a great feed back from him Great Location !!!

D Brocklebank, Port Erin, United Kingdom - May 2014

Declan absolutely loved it I have received a great feed back from him Great Location !!!

D Brocklebank, Port Erin, United Kingdom - May 2014

Declan absolutely loved it I have received a great feed back from him Great Location !!!

S Cooke, Edinburgh, Scotland - Sep 2013

I am happy to recommend Lyon Bleu French school. It was extremely well organized with fantastic teachers and excellent cultural activities/cooking classes.

R Richman, Wembley, United Kingdom - Sep 2012

We liked the school. We enjoyed the course and our group. Our two tutors were delightful and conscientous. However, we felt that we could have covered more ground. The cuisine part was great fun but could be better organised and covered more and delivered a bit more.

M ('Mike') PROCTER, 2 Archers Close, Swaffham Bulbeck,, UK - Jul 2012

Language course: Content was mostly about the right level in theory, but delivery of oral instructions and tuition was often too fast and difficult to understand (for me)- which subtracted from the overall usefulness of the course. 'Cooking' is not a very accurate description of the other part of the course. 'Cuisine' in the wider sense, perhaps? There was only one hands-on cooking lesson, but there was an 'about cheese' session with tasting and a local recipe demo, a guided city tour, and a trip to the market (a guided tour, not a treasure hunt). There was also a meal at a traditional restaurant, which was included (not cost extra as per your info). I thought this was all very good, so this isn't a complaint - just an observation that your course info differs from reality. There was quite a lot of slack time in the day, but whilst more course-work would have been possible, it was nice to get out and explore. My accommodation was good and very central. The central position was fun

D Ruston, Teddington, England - Aug 2011

Teachers at school are lovely, professional & friendly. The cookery 'course' is two classes. In retrospect I would say that I would have wanted to have more actual French courses (as well as the cooking), 2 hours a day not enough. Beware the residence by Sax Gambetta - it is a dodgy area.

Reply from Supplier: Hello, thank you for your feedback we’re pleased you liked the courses but we were surprised to hear you didn’t like the area as we usually receive excellent feedback for the residence. "Saxe Gambetta" is situated in a lively neighbourhood, which is culturally and socially mixed. Universities are close by and there are a lot of restaurants etc. It is a safe area which we can really recommend and which our students usually enjoy a lot so we’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy the area. Thank you again.

M Sandra Rachel N C, Markham, Canada - Nov 2010

Excellent cultural programme, friendly staff, experienced teachers!

V Gray, Watermael-Boitsfort, Belgium - Sep 2010

It was an ideal course for a weeks holiday. The staff at the school were excellent, very welcoming and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to anyone who would like to sample a 'taste' of France and its culture.

S Jingree, Croydon, UK - Aug 2010

I think more cooking would have made this course exceptional.

l lace, abbots langley, england - May 2010

This was an excellent course - I was a bit nervous beforehand but it was fine and I learnt loads. The cookery part was extremely good value for money!

G Murrell, Ruislip, United Kingdom - Aug 2009

Great course, to gain fuller from cooking lessons need more than a basic understanding of French.