French pastry and baking cookery course

Bordeaux Region, Bordeaux, France

4 days from
per person

Average user rating

Average guest review

Overall Experience

Learning experience

Friendliness of staff

Quality of tuition

Average overall rating for
this holiday location

Read reviews from previous guests

J Vallejo, Glasgow, SCOTLAND - Jul 2017

It was a great experience. I learnt a few tricks in the kitchen and practised some traditional French desserts with the support of the teacher and the fellow students. It was my first time doing a cookery course and I would highly recommend it to everyone interested in French cuisine.

M Vanderwey, Parap, Australia - Jun 2017

Both Marlene the cooking instructor and Tom her off sider are very personable, easy to get along with and have a sense of humour. The instruction is clear, with full explanations of the why and wherefores. A truly excellent course to attend.

Reply from Supplier: Thanks Tony!! Looking forward to seeing you again on Sunday for new adventures :-) Marlene

W Watson, Clerkenwell, England - Oct 2016

Absolutely outstanding our whole experience was brilliant. The tutor was so inspiring and now I can understand about the method of this type of cooking more which is fantastic. Can not recommend this highly enough there should be more stars awarded.

J WEXHAM, CHELTENHAM, United Kingdom - Aug 2015

I have a lovely time in France with Marlene and Thomas ... Exceptionally welcoming ... Her words at the train station were 'let me take you home', that was a perfect beginning... and it continued to be until the end... Food, wine, the tuition and hospitality were faultless .... Thank you xx

L Cave, Darlington, United Kingdom - Jul 2015

We would highly recommend the course, the accommodation and meals. Margaret has made strawberry tarts, choux buns and strawberry and chocolate macaroons

Reply from Supplier: Bonjour Arthur, Thank you so much for a great review, I can't tell you how much Tom and I enjoyed your company. Very best wishes to you 3 !! Marlene

T Mckelvey, Glashutten, Germany - Jul 2015

Thanks Marlene (and Tom) for a really great experience. Just back home today and already I have my shopping list ready for lemon tart (with sugar in the pastry of course ;-)). If it tastes half as good as the ones we made under your tuition then I will be happy!

Reply from Supplier: lol Tracey!! Even without sugar your tarts tasted great ! But sugar or no sugar in the pastry, Tom and I really enjoyed your company and we are very grateful for such a lovely review. Thank you!


Superb host and teacher, I'd highly recommend this course to anyone regardless of level.

Reply from Supplier: Thank you very much Nita for your review! And thank you for choosing to bake with me, I thoroughly enjoyed our time in the kitchen! All the very best, Marlene

D Gainsford, London, United Kingdom - Oct 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful few days. I had a great time and learnt so much, I'm very much looking forward to putting my new skills to the test (as are my family and friends). I hope to be back next year to do your other course. Thank you again for the great experience.

Reply from Supplier: Debbie, thank you so much for a great time, for your lovely company and for a great review! I look forward to seeing photos of your sweet creations! Sweet regards ;-) Marlene

K Probert, Oakleigh South, Australia - Sep 2014

Awesome classes, absolutely loved that whole experience. Marlene & Marc were fantastic hosts, couldn't have had a better time

Reply from Supplier: Thank you thank you Kristy!! I only wish you could have stayed longer, it was not only great fun in the kitchen, I really enjoyed your company. I am not sure whether I should feel let down or glad for you that you could still fit in your jeans though ;-) xxx Marlene

C Haywood, London, UK - Jul 2014

Thank you for such a great time! I met some great people, ate some great food and learnt some fantastic new skills!

Reply from Supplier: thank you very much for your kind review! It was a pleasure having you and Hilary and I only wish I could have spent more time in your company. Even though it was a very full-on and noisy course, I could see and enjoy your passion for patisserie and I hope to see photos of your baking!! Take care and thank you again, Marlene

N Fitzpatrick, Boston, USA - May 2014

I truly loved it! Marlene and Marc are warm & welcoming hosts, and their home is beautiful. Marlene is a talented instructor, with great experience, technique, and patience. Marc's meals were delicious; his energy & humor created a relaxed amosphere. I learned so much, and also made new friends!

Reply from Supplier: Dear dear Nancy, Thank you for choosing our home for your holiday, we feel privileged to have met you! Those couple of days in the kitchen were really fun and productive. We are very glad you enjoyed it, and really grateful for such a great review! Thanks x Marlene & Marc

K Thomas, Brixton, United Kingdom - May 2014

Marlène and Marc do a wonderful job! From the minute I walked in the door, I was made to feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed. Marc's food is scrumptious- every meal was ridiculously, deliciously lovely. Also completely unexpected- I hadn't thought we'd eat and drink quite so well. And Marlène's tuition is great. Her pace, patience and sense of humour create an atmosphere where learning is fun and enjoyable. We worked collaboratively, and together, managed to create amazing things.

Reply from Supplier: Kate, thank you so much for a fantastic review! Most of all I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you, Tanya and Serena had a great time for the end of your trip! All the very best from both of us Marlene

C Bouhricha , Grantham , England - Oct 2013

Marlene's Patisserie course has been one of the best experiences I have ever taken part in. I learnt so much over a short period of time and I had lots of fun in the process. Marlene was so welcoming and friendly and the skills she taught me will be with me for life. Thankyou for an amazing time!

Reply from Supplier: Christelle, thank you so much for such a brilliant review, it is ever so kind of you. I hope to come and visit your pastry shop/café one day! Happy new year hun x Marlene

P Tily, Bristol, England - Oct 2013

My daughter and I were made very welcome by Marc and Marlene, nothing was too much trouble, and we felt part of their lovely family. The other girls on the course were great . We learnt lots and have successfully made a couple of things since coming home. All the meals we were given were super.

K Jones, Washington, United Kingdom - Jul 2013

I had an amazing time and feel like I learned so much. Top quality choice. There is nothing at all I can say that's negative about this course, it was fantastic. If you are thinking about doing it, don't hesitate! Really lovely people.

B E, Wrexham, UK - Jul 2013

Excellent tuition and superb hospitality


Thanks to Marlene and Marc I had an amazing, fun and filling time on this course. The accommodation, breakfast and lunches were entertainingly provided by Marc (Marlene is not the only good cook in this house). Marlene was patient, supportive and very enthusiastic teacher. I had a fabulous time.

J Ng, Cork, Ireland - Apr 2013

Was a truly amazing trip! Marlene, Marc & the family were so welcoming and warm! The course was so well organised and I learnt a lot from Marlene! The accommodation and the meals were excellent, cannot find faults in anything and it's highly recommended!

J Cocozza, Rainham, United Kingdom - Apr 2013

Marlene and Marc are great hosts and Marlene a superb teacher. The accommodation was very comfortable and they made us feel very much at home. I have to say, the food they provided for our breakfast, lunch and evening meals was superb. I couldn’t recommend them highly enough.

H Delman, Thousand Oaks, United States - Jan 2013

This cooking course was one of the greatest experiences i have had while in France. Marlene and Mark are the most gracious hosts. The food is beyond amazing and the cooking course is an absolute blast! Great food Great company Great time! I would recommend it to anyone!

C Wilson, St Brelades Bay, United Kingdom - Jan 2013

I really enjoyed my pastry course! Wish it could have been for longer! Marlene and Mark were wonderful hosts and the course offered a nice balance of r&r time as well as course time. Room and food were fantastic too. Definitely recommended!

M Jol Bates, Hereford, UK - Jul 2012

We enjoyed two full days of fun learning with Marlene and my wife and I. With their superb house in a peaceful setting the whole experience exceeded our expectations. I have already recommended the course to work colleagues.

C Hailey, Fortitude Valley (Brisbane), Australia - Jun 2011

This was an incredible experience that I will remember forever. I loved the hands-on learning and the small class size. Mark and Marlene were the perfect hosts...the meals were amazing, the rooms were extremely comfortable and their company was delightful! I would recommend this course to anyone.

h see yunn, london, UK - May 2011

Marlene and Mark are excellant host and made me feel really like a friend in their lovely home. They are very friendly and very efficient in answering all my enquiries and gave me assurance when I was planning the trip. Marlene's cooking tips were excellant. definitely a trip worth going for

M Peter Wilkins, Leigh on Sea, United Kingdom - May 2011

with out doubt a wonderful trip and will recommend to others.

C Weston, Dubai, UAE - Mar 2011

C Weston, Dubai, UAE - Mar 2011

This was SUPER! Cooking with Marlene is like cooking with a good friend who knows more than you do and is happy to share the secrets! It was exactly what I was looking for. I hope to go back in 2012 for the country cooking class.